Friday, February 13, 2009


She is Lakshmi , Saraswati , Amba.

She is Bhudevi of the mother earth , Neeladevi of the blue sky and Sridevi of prosperity .

She is Kamakshi at Kanchi , Meenakshi at Madurai , Vishalakshi at Kashi .

She is the Mata ,mother at Vaishnodevi , Padmavati at Trichanur .

She is the sacred waters of the Ganga at Gangotri and Kaveri at Talakaveri .

She has her own independent temples without male protection .

She is Shakti , Parvati, Durga , Bhuvaneshwari , Bhavani , Lalitha Tripurasundari .

She is Kali at Kolkata , Kanyakumari at the southern tip of India .

She is Sharada at Sringeri and Mookambika at Kollur .

She is Bhagavati at Kerala and Mahalakshmi at Kolhapur.

She is Rukmini at Dwaraka and Sita at Bhadrachalam and Andal at Srivilliputtur.

She is Gayatri of the sacred Mantra.

She is Annapoorneshwari at Horanadu who feeds thousands every day .

She is Devi .

She comprises the Ashtalakshmis- the eight Lakshmis and Nava Durgas -the nine Durgas .

She rules the festival of the nine nights- Navaratri .

She is grace and compassion incarnate .

I am fortunate to see her every day for nearly four decades in my own mother .

She is the Divine Mother ......

Thursday, February 12, 2009

Gods and Gods part 3

By the first Century AD most educated hindus were eihter Vaishnavas or Saivas , but they lived amicably side by side, since both Siva and Vishnu are both only aspects of Brahman . Amongst the Trimurti , the worship of Brahma the secondary creator never became popular , instead , with the coming of the Agamas ,or ritual temple worship guides, three important broad divisions evolved . Saiva , Vaishnava and Sakta . The followers of the Sakta cult worship God in the female form , as Sri or Lakshmi , Saraswati , Sharada , Kali , Durga etc all considered aspects of the divine mother , the attributeless Brahman in the female form .

Adi Sankara in the eighth century approved of the worship of God ( Brahman ) in 6 different categories /aspects .

1. As Vishnu , Narayana , Kesava , Rama , Krishna ,Narasimha etc and other avatars of Vishnu ;

2. As Siva , Rudra , Nataraja , Dakshinamurti , Iswara etc , aspects of Siva .

3. As Lakshmi , Sharada , Saraswati ,Durga , Kali , Parvati , Bhavani , etc as the Divine mother .

4. As Surya , the Sun .

5. As Ganesha the elephant headed God , the son of Siva and Parvati .

6. As Subramanya /Skanda /Muruga etc , also the son of Siva and Parvati , popular in south india .

Collectively known as Shanmatham , or the six systems of beliefs .

The Vedic gods did not dissappear completely since hinduism doesnt suppress any beliefs but merely adds new ones .
Today Vedic fire sacrifices are still a formal part of temple ritual and various domestic sacraments in most hindu denominations on the occasion of weddings and so on .